Hill Country

Hill Country: Being that I am orginally from North Carolina, and have visited the Tar Heel state every summer since I was seven, I know good barbeque when I eat it. A good rule of thumb for Carolina barbecue is: the messier it is to eat, the better. Texan bbq is a whole other playing field; Texans don’t do sauce, they pride themselves on their dry rub. My boyfriend had told me about a restaurant that served Texas bbq a la carte and I was eager to see what all the fuss was about. The second I walked through Hill Country’s front door, I was hit with an overwhelming scent of wood chips, meat, and spices, making my mouth salivate with anticipation of what I was about to indulge in. We ordered two bottles of PBR ( happy hour special, $2 a bottle), and ventured up to the meat counter. The cool thing about this place is you can order your meat by the weight, so if you’re in the mood to just order one single rib, just order one! We decided to each order pork ribs upon recommendation of the butcher. We then ventured over to the “sides” counter and ordered baked beans with charred ends. Settling into our seats, we started to chowdown on our massive Texan delights. I was apprehensive to eat the ribs without some sauce, but to my surprise, these hunks of meat didn’t need a drip of barbecue sauce.The flavors of the dry rub brought out the taste of this very tender, fall off the bone kind of meat.  Note: When eating, be prepared to  have meat juice dripping from your chin; thankfully you have a roll of paper towel at hand to clean up the mess. Hill Country is the perfect place to go with a big group of friends to watch a football game, drink some beer, and let your carnivore flag fly. I guess in Texas, everything is bigger and better

The Bottom Line: I will never again underestimate the power of a good dry rub.

P.S. At night, they have live music in their huge mess hall downstairs! Yee Haw!

5 responses to “Hill Country

  1. AWESOME! So glad you wrote on this! I am from TN so I am doing my own BBQ search (blog post to come) and the last place on my list is Hill Country!! Glad you liked it! Makes me more eager to go!

Leave a Reply

